Posted by: wheelywonka | August 5, 2010

Dinner for Fundraising Cyclists to Watch a Movie About a Dinner for Schmucks

Ok, there’s funny and there’s OMG – I think I’m going to hurl funny!

Tonight I attended the first ever Bike MS Club 100 Movie Night at the Alamo Drafthouse at Park North.  The Club 100 consists of the top 100 fundraisers for the Bike MS: Valero Alamo Ride to the River.  I’m proud to say I’ve been a member of this elite group of fundraisers for many years.   I do this because I believe in the casue, and I’m so inspired by the staff – Tony, Cindy, Lisa, etc. – who work so tirelessly to rid the world of this crippling disease.   This year the amazing Megan Lehnhoff has arranged an incredible series of social events for the Club 100, of which the movie night was just the latest incarnation.   I love movies, I love beer, I love cycling, and I love helping a great cause like Bike MS.  This evening I was able to do all four at once – friends, it doesn’t get any better than this. 

As soon as my co-conspirator Ashwin B and I arrived at the theater, we were offered samples of free beer.  Holy IBU, Batman – it’s a beer tasting!   I’ve been to Napa Valley a few times and participated in many a wine tasting where my palette was supposed to be dazzled by an array of grape-based libations.    I smiled a lot, but  I’ll admit – I was faking it.  What really churns my butter  is a malty, hoppy grain beverage.  …After sampling a variety of stimulating brews, we wandered into the theater where we listened to inspiring speeches by Megan, event Chairman Steve High, and some of the Bike MS staff, and then watched a short movie about the Club 100 (very funny!).  And then the main event began. 

The movie we watched was Dinner With Schmucks.    Maybe 5 days in Vegas loosened me up, or maybe I just have a sensitive funny bone, but I tell you – I laughed so hard I thought I was going to hock up some major organs.    This was one of those completely absurd, completely unpredictable movies where you had no clue what would happen next, and each scene was funnier and more extreme than the one that preceded it.    How could I expect any less?  It  was directed by Jay Roach, the guy that did Bruno and Borat (among other things), two of my all time favorite movies.  (I wonder how many people have been scarred for life by the nude wrestling scene in Borat?).  Very funny, and a great evening.

Tomorrow I ride my Cad 9 into work with my buddy Mike A.    I’m also planning on doing the First Friday Cruiser Bike ride with the gang (you know who you are!), and then either the Saturday or Sunday ride with team Velo Valero.   You know, you can’t beat being a cyclist in San Antonio where you can ride year round on so many different types of terrain with so many wonderful people – well, it’s like going to the prom every night with a different date! 

NOTE:  To see the complete list of Velo Valero rides, click here.

See ya’ on the road! 

Leave a Reply

Categories

