Posted by: wheelywonka | August 5, 2010

The Benefits of Exercise

Why do we exercise?  Let me count the ways.  We exercise because it makes us –

  • Feel better
  • Look better
  • Sleep better

This last point is extremely important.  After returning from a recent trip to Las Vegas, and after 5 days of a two-hour time change and being on Defcon time (sleep late, stay up later), it was hard for me to adjust to my typical work schedule – wake up at 6:30 and arrive at work at 7:30.  This was primarily because I had a hard time going to sleep the night before at a reasonable hour.  Day 1 (Tuesday) I didn’t make it.  Woke up, showered, got dressed, laid down for just a second, and next thing I know, it’s 10:00 am.  Day 2 (Wednesday), I managed to get to work on time, but felt like a zombie walking through peanut butter all day.  Last night, after riding the Cad 9 for 30+ miles of the legendary Wednesday night Velo Valero Hillfest in 100 degree temps, I can tell you that I fell asleep like a baby promptly at 10:30, and woke up 8 hours later at 6:30 feel fully recharged and ready to rumble.   Order to the universe has been restored – I’m back on San Antonio time and back into my training groove for the Bike MS:  2010 Valero Alamo Ride to the River

See ya’ on the road!

Leave a Reply

Categories

