Posted by: wheelywonka | November 8, 2010

Final Training Run, Now It’s Time to Rest and Rejuvenate

…I was visiting family in College Station this weekend, including a trip on Saturday to the Texas Renaissance Fair.   But, with the San Antonio Rock and Roll Marathon only a week away, I had to squeeze in one more long run to insure I was ready for the big event.  One of the things I really like about running is that it’s a very portable sport.  All you need is your running shoes and some shorts, and you can run anywhere – which gives you absolutely no excuse to not maintain your training program, even while traveling.  So, after spending all day reveling in the wine and the song and the medieval merriment that is the Renfest, I woke up Sunday morning, laced up the New Balances, and headed out on my longest training run of the year.  I managed to do 12 miles in just over two hours (2:03 to be exact), which once again is not going to get me to the World Games, but is respectable for a guy shin deep in a one month training program.   …The other thing I like about running is that there are always new routes to run.  In this case, I ran down George Bush drive to the George Bush Presidential Library, where I did a few laps around the lake and gardens, and passed that great monument to freedom and the fall of the Berlin Wall.  On the way back, I ran past the Texas A&M Football stadium, including the burial site for the Revelie’s of years past (aka, the Aggie mascot).   All in all, a great end to a great (but short) training season.  For the rest of the week, I’ll lay low, maybe do a few Yoga classes, and a short 3 mile run – but that’s it.  This is a recovery week, where I just need to focus on eating well, staying hydrated, and getting plenty of rest.  Can’t wait for the big run with 30,000 of my closest friends!   

Training for the Rock and Roll Marathon at the Texas Renfest

Leave a Reply

Categories

